Can I ‘really’ be free?

Many Bible verses declare freedom.

For example:

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” Galatians 5:1

The verse says that you can live in liberty and choose not to be entangled again in sin! Do you believe it?

God cannot lie.

“In hope of eternal life, which God, Who cannot lie, promised before the world began;” Titus 1:2

“That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:” Hebrews 6:18

Neither is Paul lying [God led him to write all the letters from which the verses in this post come.]:

“The God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Who is blessed forevermore, knows that I am not lying.” 2 Corinthians 11:31

“Now the things which I write to you, behold, before God, I am not lying.” Galatians 1:20

2 thoughts on “Can I ‘really’ be free?

  1. I am learning to walk in the Spirit and experience the freedom from sin that the bible talks about. For me it has been learning to rely on Christ in me to live my life. Over the years I have developed a relationship in which Jesus and I communicate and I am familiar with his voice. This grew from bible time and prayer time and getting to know his voice and character. This enabled me to come to the place of deciding to believe what God says such as, God lives in me, really lives in me!

    Now I live my daily life depending on him to show me what God wants to do and say through me. I have learned the joy of submission and no longer see it as something restrictive, but freeing. Submission to God’s direction and voice allow me to experience God work through me, or better said as, us working together following God’s lead and will. I experience doing things I otherwise would never be able to do and seeing God work in other peoples lives in ways that they otherwise would not experience.

    I do not submit in my own strength but depend on Christ in me to submit to God. When I am tempted I call on Christ to resist and he does and shows me the way out. I depend on Christ’s faith to live my life because I have seen how my faith alone isn’t always dependable.

    I am seeing much growth and victory in my life since I have come to understand how to lean on Christ. However, the turning point in my life to this life of freedom was understanding the forgiveness God has given me for my sin and the power to be free of its power. I no longer spend my days trying to overcome sin in my life. I rest in Christ and am about the Father’s business. In my trials I am very aware of God working even when feelings contradict. So yes a child of God who is born again can really be free!!! For those the son sets free are free indeed!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Life for me used to be like living in a muddy landscape. I’d slip and slide all the time, couldn’t really get my footing. Wondered what was wrong. Much of the time I’d get on the slippery slope of sin. Maybe it wasn’t immediate, but in ten minutes, an hour, a day, the inevitable would happen and I’d be at the bottom, muddy from head to toe, guilty and miserably unhappy. Eventually I started giving-in, getting it over with. Why waste all that time fighting a losing battle, I reasoned? I could always ask for forgiveness afterward. That was such an evil thought straight from our enemy. When others have heard those last statements, they’ve said, “You’ve been reading my mind! I do the same!” Sin has defeated us so badly that we have quit fighting. Don’t stop fighting, but do pick up the weapons He’s given you. You are more heavily-armed in Him that you’ve ever imagined! Victory is yours in Christ, because He is never defeated.

    Now, in contrast, though I’m not in heaven, I am walking in the clouds. Pristine air, no smog.

    So thankful finally to see my Lord loving me as I never had known before and to see Him working His power as I share with Him, believing in Him, receiving from Him.

    This was always His intent. It was impossible without Him. Apart from Him we can do nothing, not even the smallest thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

