Personal Relationship with God?

Is there such a thing as a personal relationship with God?

Only if these verses are true:

“That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death;” Philippians 3:10

“(3) We are sure that we know Him, if we keep His commandments. (4) He who says, I know Him, and does not keep His commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.” 1 John 2:3-4

“And we know that the Son of God has come, and has given us understanding, that we may know Him Who is true, and we are in Him who is true, even in His Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.” 1 John 5:20

“(22) Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your Name? And in Your Name have cast out devils? And in Your Name done many wonderful works? (23) And then will I profess to them, I never knew you: depart from Me, you who work iniquity.” Matthew 7:22-23

Each of us will be judged by whether He knows us.

There is no debate whether there is a personal relationship with God.
If you don’t know Him and He doesn’t know you, you’re lost.

He knows your name. Do you hear Him when He calls? He expects you to.

“The porter opens to him [the shepherd] and the sheep hear [perceive] his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.” John 10:3

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me:” John 10:27

I did not hear Him nor know Him very well most of my life. How could I have missed Him? My conversion was genuine, and this very real, very personal God was continually reaching out to me and calling me.

I’m sorry to say I was deaf and blind for so long. A tragedy hit. In my despair, He heard me and helped me hear Him.

We must know Him better than anyone else in our lives, for He alone endures when all else passes away.

4 thoughts on “Personal Relationship with God?

  1. We do tend to learn more in our deep valley experiences than our mountaintops. ….more often than not these serve as a bridge to a deeper, more intimate relationship with God.  Great post…..an aid to my testimony I’m preparing.  Blessings

    Like

  2. I totally agree with all that has been said here in regards to a personal relationship with God. I wonder though how this looks to outsiders. Words like “voice” sound like we should be in some kind of a conversation just like we would with another human being — actual audio sounds. But voice can also mean recognizing what He is communicating to us through signs, Bible verses and interaction with other Christians. When one does not hear an actual voice, it forces one to think that maybe they are not hearing the voice that is being referred to us Biblically. Outsiders see this as nonsensical. But God has spoken to us through burning bushes, through miracles, through unselfish acts of kindnesses, as well as millions of other ways. I think that it is the totality of how God communicates to us (and that we recognize them as such) is the “voice” that is being referred to in the Bible. Understanding this has helped me to pursue and develop my own personal relationship with God — because I do not hear the audio either. I do however, hear Him in a myriad of other ways as referred to above.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Matt.

    Can the Spirit communicate by a voice, like He did with Samuel as a boy in the Temple? Of course.

    Can He communicate by leading in some way? Yes. Rom 8:14, Gal 5:18

    How will He communicate with me? He will do so in a way that I personally will recognize. He knows me and how I hear. He has the responsibility to communicate to me.

    He knows what will make me turn-aside, give attention to something He’s doing, like Moses at the burning bush.

    I have the responsibility to respond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

