Like Riding a Bicycle

Our concept of the Christian life is like teaching a child how to ride a bike. Once there’s matching balance and velocity, the child rides off independently. In the Christian life, we ride off without Him, as if He’s only in a distant heaven, while He calls to us, “Where are you going? We’re supposed to ride together!

We’re yoked with Him. Matt 11:29-30

We’re joined to Him in spirit. 1 Cor 6:17

We’re new creations with Him. 2 Cor 5:17, Gal 6:15

Christ is in you. Gal 1:15-16, 2:20, 4:19; Col 1:27; 2 Cor 13:3, 5

And, the Father is in you. Eph 4:6

Are you riding with Him?

 

This changes everything.

There is no more self-anything, as we used to think.

No selfdiscipline, self-esteem, etc., as if it is just you!

“I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; no, it is not I [not just me, nor only my new self ‘I’], but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the Son of God’s faith, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me.” Galatians 2:20

This may sound outrageously wrong, but you are no longer your own.

Your self has been redefined!

“(19) Do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit Who is in you, Whom you have from God, and you are not your own?  (20) For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.”  1 Cor 6:19-20

Leave a Reply

