Divine Tag Team

As a kid, I remember watching wrestling on tv. There were tag team matches. If one wrestler was being throttled and could just extend his arm to his teammate, the other one could tag him, then leap in the ring to crush the opponent who was tearing apart his buddy.

We are in the ring with the devil.

me: Lord, I can’t do it.

Lord: I have no expectation that you can. For apart from Me, you can do nothing (John 15:5).

me: I feel like doing such and so, and that’s wrong!

Lord: But I don’t feel that way. Would you like to share My trustworthy feelings?

me: Yes I would! Where are You?

Lord: My Father and I and the Holy Spirit are with you in your spirit.

me: You mean it’s not my responsibility to pull this Christian life off on my own?

Lord: That was never My plan. You are a new creation with Me (2 Cor 5:17). You and We, the Godhead, are a new creation together.

Extend your arm for the tag, and your Companion, the Almighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace, Wonderful Counselor, King of kings and Lord of lords, and the Holy Spirit [along with the body of Christ (all the rest of us) and 2/3rds of the angels] will show Themselves strong on your behalf and rescue you from the hands of your, also created, enemy.

“According to their deeds, accordingly He will repay, fury to His adversaries, recompense to His enemies; to the islands He will repay recompense.” Isaiah 59:18

“The Lord shall consume the wicked one with the spirit of His mouth, and shall destroy him with the brightness of His coming:” 2 Thessalonians 2:8

“For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil.” 1 John 3:8b

3 thoughts on “Divine Tag Team

  1. Brilliant word picture that not only aptly describes our helpless condition in our daily struggles but also provides the WAY, the SOLUTION, the ANSWER to how to be more than conquerors with the Heavenly TRIO in One

    Like

Leave a Reply

