Spiritual Measurement: What you say and do

Do we speak from ourselves?

He didn’t.

“… I do nothing from Myself; but as My Father has taught Me, I speak these things.” John 8:28b
“(49) For I have not spoken of Myself; but the Father Who sent Me gave Me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak. (50) And I know that His commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto Me, so I speak.” John 12:49-50
“Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak unto you, I do not speak from Myself: but the Father Who dwells in Me does the works.” John 14:10

Jesus is God in the flesh, showing us what He is like.


In the new creation of God and us, we do not speak from ourselves either.

“If any person is in Christ, that person is a new creation. The old things have passed away, new things have come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17
“It is no longer [just] I who live, but Christ lives in me.” (Galatians 2:20b)
“Those who have joined themselves to the Lord are one spirit.” 1 Corinthians 6:17

Measure yourself by what you say and do.

He is leading you to follow Him in speech and your walk together.

Lord, help me know what you are saying and doing in me.

“You seek for proof of Christ speaking in me.” 2 Corinthians 13:3

One thought on “Spiritual Measurement: What you say and do

  1. I guess if one believes the doctrines of OSAS along with No Effort To Get To Heaven the measurement of ones life as compared to the Fruit of the Spirit is really inconsequential. If one is saved there is really no need for “following” The Good Shepard and us making conscience decisions to be like Him. One just says he/she believes and moves on with life. One doesn’t have to worship God, sing praises to God, tithe or anything else because they are saved. The bible means nothing and it doesn’t need to be read or followed. I haven’t heard any of the major denominations explain what God expects of a believer since a believer is OSAS and John 10:3-10 is quoted much. Question: what does “follow” mean in John 10? When the Shepard opens the gate and walks in and out do the sheep lay on the ground and do nothing? Isn’t there some form of effort or likeness being or do the sheep lay on the ground expecting The Shepard to spoon feed them? Do the present day sheep go to church, listen to the preacher and go home because that is what is expected—-NOTHING? The fear of “works” related salvation is wrong when reading the holy scriptures and seeing the examples of the ancient believers. When “Works” is mentioned in the New Testament it relates to works of the “Law of Old Testament or any list of activities that is required by man to be saved”. The holy scriptures tell us that “IF” we are saved we will (behave, act, be, show the effort, etc.) of those things Christ Jesus spoke of and is. The Believer “gets up” and moves forward in Christ and is a new creature and is behaving like Christ. We see this in Galatians 5:22-28, The Fruits of the Spirit. There are many conditional “IF” statements in the New Testament and many have expected cheap grace and will be disappointed because they have been lead astray by an easy gospel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

