Recognizing God IN Us

Several years ago, I was at a friend’s home for the evening with him and his wife.

Toward the end of my time there, I asked if I could share some verses about God’s Presence in us. As I was going through some of them, my friends became hostile.

And being a hefty guy, he inched himself from my face and loudly declared how mistaken I was.

A rather humorous encounter then occurred.

With him viewed as if through a microscope, I similarly echoed, “IF CHRIST WAS IN YOU, WOULD THAT BE A GOOD THING OR BAD THING?!”

As if furious, he struggled to contain, “THAT WOULD BE A GOOD THING!!!”

“AND IF,” I resumed, “THE FATHER WAS IN YOU, WOULD THAT BE A GOOD THING OR BAD THING?!”

Again, through clenched teeth, “THAT WOULD BE A GOOD THING!!!”

A ringing echoed as he proceeded to launch his figurative gauntlet onto the floor.

A challenge!

Get the Bibles and other resources out to prove He has no such Presence in us.

The next morning, I began collecting God in us verses.

I gave him the document the following week.

A few months later, my friend approached me and said quietly, “I don’t know what happened that night, but I’ve read all the verses, and I get it. I agree the Bible shares the fullness of God’s Presence.”

My friend was right-don’t accept someone’s statements without examination. Take it from His Word on how much He loves you and how much He would do, and did, to fully know you.

The Father, Son, and Spirit are in you because Lovers must be with Their beloved.

Leave a Reply

