The Limit to Law and its Solution

I found stick-em name tags trailing a company’s running club.

Along with the company’s logo were these sayings:

I AM <COMPANY> GREEN. I AM A LEADER.

I’M A BEST REPRESENTATIVE OF <COMPANY>.

I LEAVE ANY AREA AS I FOUND IT OR BETTER.

I RESPECT THOSE IN LEADERSHIP ROLES.

I TAKE ONLY ONE & LEAVE SOME FOR ANOTHER.

I AM KIND TO OTHERS. (I found three of these.)

 

This company should be applauded for passing on a worldview.

What is this worldview (or any others) based on? Unknown.

Are there other sayings that would continue to improve the worldview?

Yes.

How about these Biblical ones?

DON’T STEAL.

DON’T LIE.

DON’T HATE.

DON’T MURDER.

BEAR ONE ANOTHER’S BURDENS.

 

We’re on to something!

Let’s collect wise sayings, so we all can adhere to them or be forced to follow them.

And, that’s where all religions start and where one relationship stops.

 

What happens when I cannot make myself adhere to what I assent or believe?

I need Someone to walk in and with me. Christ manifests how we, God and man, function as one.

 

“(4) Remain in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it remains in the vine; neither can you, unless you remain in Me. (5) I am the Vine, you are the branches. He who remains in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit. For without Me, you can do nothing. (6) If a man does not remain in Me, he is cast away as a branch, and withers, and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are consumed. (7) If you remain in Me, and My words remain in you, you shall ask what you will, and it shall be done to you. (8) In this is My Father glorified, that you bear much fruit; so shall you be My disciples.” John 15:4-8

2 thoughts on “The Limit to Law and its Solution

  1. I found the first set of statements interesting because each statement begins with “I” which place self above others as compared to the bible versus placing others first…

    Like

    • Good insight.

      God has defined righteousness by the law.

      Faced with its requirements, we see that we are unable and unwilling to be righteous. Law places the weight on our shoulders to obey it and produce change. Under law, God’s focus is on us, so our response is “I will” or “I won’t” obey it. It is all external. It fails. The law cannot change us.

      God has fully defined righteousness by His Son.

      With grace embodied in Christ, it’s all about Him. He fulfilled righteousness. He produces the change in us. We don’t follow external laws, we follow an indwelling Lord Who shares His life in and with us. He cannot fail.

      Like

Leave a Reply

