Anatomy of Temptation and God’s Response

It starts out generally as a tug and ends up like a shove.

Temptation.

At first it seemed good to Adam and Eve, “Be like God – that’d be great, because He’s great!”

Except He’d said, “Don’t eat…. In that day you will die.”

How about intimacy?

Great, it’s a gift, right?

Except when He said, “Don’t misuse it – it’ll destroy you. You and I were meant for each other.

“(12) All things are lawful for me [in Christ], but all things are not helpful: all things are lawful for me, but I will not be mastered by anything. (13) Food is for the stomach, and the stomach for food, but God shall make them both pass away [corruptible flesh is temporal]. Now the body is not for fornication, but for the Lord; and the Lord for the body.” 1 Corinthians 6:12-13

My body is for the Lord, and the Lord is for my body.

He and I were made for each other.

The intended intimacy is solely for Him.

I am His bride.

Others share [appropriately] in His loving me and my loving Him. I pass Him on to them as light, salt, a fresh drink of water welling up into life.

“Good morning, Sunshine!” should be said of me.

 

When I am tempted, someone is attempting to get between my God and me.

The tempter seeks to get my attention on myself, as if it’s only me facing the temptation.

But, I am never alone.

The Lover, I’ve said yes to, is jealous for me.

“He intensely craves the spirit that He made to dwell in me.” James 4:5

He never mistreats or belittles me.

He always seeks to pull me close and tell me He’s with me.

He tells me how much He loves me.

In His way, He is kissing my brow and speaking kindly and lovingly to me.

The Father comforts and calms me as only He can.

 

Once He’s taken the shove out of the temptation, He says, “Look here.”

The Son is smiling at me.

Would I like to share His Life and all that means?

“He who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.” 1 Corinthians 6:17

Would I like to share His thoughts (1 Cor 2:16), feelings, believing (Gal 2:20, I live by His faith; 2 Tim 2:13), obeying (2 Cor 10:5), being willing, and being yielded [to His Father]?

Share His power, wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption?

“(24) But to them who are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God.  (30) By Him you are in Christ Jesus, Who of God is made to us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:” 1 Corinthians 1:24, 30

Share His fruit, His aroma?

“(22) But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, (23) meekness, self-control: there is no law against these.” Galatians 5;22-23

 

The bad times in life especially help me get to know the only One Who can truly help me, and the only One Who always loves me.

The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit.

I am one with God in three Persons.

“Lord. Do You feel the way that I am feeling in this temptation?”

“No. But, would you like to share the way I feel? I provide all of the above in Myself to freely share with you. We were made for each other. We are one together.”

He says, “Say with Me and believe with Me, ‘Darkness depart. Light and love flood in!'”

 

Leave a Reply

