New Years Eve: The Old Has Passed Away

Many celebrate New Years Eve as Good Riddance Day.

And we sympathize.

Divorce, family disintegration, starvation, overdue bills, suffering, ethnic cleansing, bankruptcy, joblessness, illness, disease, death, politicians, butchery, persecution. So many seem to be racing down the road to hell.

Good riddance to trouble!

And God agrees. He has even set a day where He “shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be anymore pain: for the former things have passed away.” Revelation 21:4

Godly good riddance!

If a person’s hope is in the world, then it ends up on the trash heap of humanity to which we cry, “Good riddance!”

A world that abandons God experiences discord, chaos, slavery, sin and death.

(17) And You have removed my soul far off from peace: I forgot prosperity. (18) And I said, My strength and my hope have perished from the LORD: (19) Remembering my affliction and my misery, the wormwood and the gall. (20) My soul has them still in remembrance, and is humbled in me. (21) This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. (22) It is because of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed. His compassions do not fail. (23) They are new every morning: great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:17-23

Do you know someone who wants true peace?

(28) Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. (29) Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and you shall find rest for your souls. (30) For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

Rest for the weary, drink for the parched, food for the hungry, freedom from sin, life from the dead.

All these are in the Person of Christ.

He is humanity’s Christmas and eternal Gift.

Every answer you need and hope you have are found in Him.

Look forward to the morning. Joy is coming!

Leave a Reply

