Witnessing 1: A Good Question

Here’s a good three part question to start a meaningful conversation:

“Have you found what you’re looking for in life? If so, what was it? If not, what do you think you’re looking for?”

I have used this extensively, and only rarely do I encounter someone who is not willing to talk about what they’re looking for.

Women particularly respond, and quite often a lady will say, “What a great question!” The discussion starts.

You might guess that men may avoid the topic. Can men admit it, if they haven’t found that for which they’re accountable to God, church and family?

Whether it’s the young high school student or the doctor, people are willing to talk. Should we be surprised that He said, “Behold, I say to you, Lift your eyes, and look on the fields; they are white already to harvest.” John 4:35b

There is such a void in hearts that people want to know there’s something out there that makes it all worthwhile.

Here are some common answers to the question:

“I don’t know what I’m looking for.”

“I haven’t really thought about it.”

“My job/career and the people I work with.”

“I think I’ve finally found the right man.”

“My family.”

“God.”

The common thread is relationship.

Everyone first wants to receive love, to know that they’re worthy of being loved. They need the affection, affirmation, and attention that only the Lord can perfectly give them. Next, they want to love back.

 

Even in the hardest times, Christ is there to love you and hold you.

I am a widower and remember saying in the valley, “This isn’t abundant life, Lord. If there is really abundance in You, then You need to show me.” And, “Lord, this has been a house of death for so long. Please make it a house of life again.”

Somehow He renews your desire to live.

He is Expert at bringing life from whatever type of death you are experiencing.

I’m living proof.

And so are you believers who love the Father, the Son, and the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

