Witnessing 4: The Glass of Water

I’ve found this useful in talking with people. There are other similar approaches.

Commonly, at a coffee shop, both a clear plastic glass of water and a cup of coffee or tea are on the table.

To illustrate mankind’s common journey, a talk might contain this, though there’s no script. Say only what He leads you to say:

“Our lives at birth look very clear, but we know there are dissolved minerals in our glasses of water. I found in my life that over time, my water became an ever deeper and deeper tint, because of things I’d said and done.”

“Finally, my water was like this coffee. I hated what and who I was, but I couldn’t escape myself. No one had made my water dirty-I was the only one to blame.”

“I could come to you or anyone in the world and ask, ‘Can you purify my water?'”

“The only possible response from you or anyone else? ‘Even if I could dilute my water with yours, it would be only a lighter tint, but I cannot make your water pure.'”

“What would it take for someone to make me a pure glass of water, to give me a new life? It would take Someone like us, but Who wasn’t similarly tinted. It would take Someone pure, without sin, Who has the power over life. It would have to be a Man Who was also the Son of God. It would take Jesus Christ.”

“This is what He did for me through His cross. He had every right to throw me away in disgust. But, instead He picked me up and has never let me down.”

Leave a Reply

